About Us

About the Institute for Sustainable Infrastructure (ISI)

The Institute for Sustainable Infrastructure (ISI) is a 501 (c) (3) not for profit organization, structured to develop and maintain a sustainability rating system for civil infrastructure. That system, called Envision®, is a collaboration between ISI in Washington. D.C., and the Zofnass Program for Sustainable Infrastructure at the Graduate School of Design at Harvard University, Cambridge, Massachusetts.

ISI was founded by the American Council of Engineering Companies (ACEC), the American Public Works Association (APWA), and the American Society of Civil Engineers (ASCE). ISI is governed by a nine member Board of Directors, appointed by the founding organizations for three-year terms. A third of the board rotates each year.

Click here to download a list of key ISI staff.

Board of Directors 2015

Greg DiLoreto, P.E., P.LS, F.ASCE Retired  
Gail Farber, P.E. Director Los Angeles County Department of Public Works
Susan M. Hann, P.E., AICP, ICMA-CM, LEED GA Director of Planning and Project Management Brevard Public Schools, FL.
D. Wayne Klotz, P.E., D. WRE President Klotz Associates
Howard B. LaFever, P.E., BCC Principal GHD, Inc.
Gary Lee Moore City Engineer City of Los Angeles
D. Michael Mucha, P.E. Director Madison Metropolitan Sewerage District
Terry F. Neimeyer, P.E., BCEE, FACEC CEO KCI Technologies
Timothy Psomas, P.E. Chm. Emeritus Psomas
Gregs Thomopulos, P.E., F.ASCE, FACEC Chairman Stanley Consultants
John Williams CEO Impact Infrastructures
William J. Bertera, President and CEO, (non-voting)


ISI is open to both public and private sector members and offers two types of memberships; Charter Memberships and Sustaining Memberships. Employees of public sector agencies, upon application, receive complementary memberships with full membership rights and privileges.


  • Accreditation Committee will handle everything related to the ENV SP credential including training, e-learning, and the exam.

  • Public Information Committee will focus more broadly on how to present or communicate Envision and its value to projects. This could also include conferences, papers, etc.

  • Technical Committee (Tech Com) is responsible for proposing new versions and changes to Envision. The work of this committee is ultimately submitted to an Envision Review Board (ERB) for approval. The ERB may also direct the Tech Com with specific needs it has identified.

  • Academic Committee is targeted mostly to full-time professors. This committee looks at how to introduce Envision into university classrooms and provides a touchstone for ISI on the most up-to-date research being conducted on issues related to sustainability.

Click here to download the committee application form.

Charter Members

Advanced Engineering and Environmental Services, Inc.
American Concrete Pipe Association
American Society of Landscape Architects
American Water Works Association
ASFE/The Geoprofessional Business Association
Asphalt Paving Alliance
Avant-Garde Engineering, LLC
Black and Veatch Corporation
Brown and Caldwell
Burns & McDonnell
B. Thayer Associates
Carollo Engineers, Inc.
Chastain & Associates, LLC
CDM Smith
Christopher B. Burke Engineering, Ltd.
Clark-Nexsen, PC
CME Associates, Inc.
Crawford, Murphy & Tilly, Inc.
Diaz Yourman & Associates
Ductile Iron Pipe Research Association
EA Engineering, Science and Technology, Inc.
Economides Consulting
exp Global
Freese and Nichols, Inc.
Fukunaga & Associates, Inc.
Fuscoe Engineering, Inc
Gannett Fleming, Inc.
GHD Inc.
Granite Construction Inc.
Greeley and Hansen
Green Agenda Committee, N. Little Rock, AR
Gresham, Smith and Partners
Haley & Aldrich, Inc.
Hanson Professional Services
Harris & Associates
HR Green, Inc.
Impact Infrastructure Inc.
J-U-B Engineers, Inc.
Kabbes Engineering, Inc.
KCI Technologies, Inc.
Kennedy/Jenks Consultants
Klotz Associates, Inc.
Ladybird Johnson Wildlife Center
Lawson Fisher Associates
Louis Berger
McCormick Taylor, Inc.
Merrick & Company
MS Consultants, Inc.
National Clay Pipe Institute
Nitsch Engineering
NV5, Inc.
O'Brien & Gere
OTAK, Inc.
Pakpour Consulting Group
Pare Corporation
Paul Redvers Brown Inc.
Pinyon Environmental, Inc.
Portland Cement Association
Power Engineers, Inc.
Quad Knopf, Inc.
Rajappan & Meyer Consulting Engineers, Inc.
Ridolfi, Inc.
Short-Elliott-Hendrickson, Inc.
Shrewsberry & Associates LLC
Smith Gardner, Inc.
Smith Seckman Reid, Inc.
SSFM International, Inc.
Stanley Consultants
Strand Associates
Thompson Strategy Consulting, Inc.
U.S. Botanic Garden
University of Florida
University of Texas at Austin
Vanasse Hangen Brustlin, Inc.
Verdunity, Inc.
Volkert, Inc.
Walter P. Moore and Associates
Weidlinger Associates, Inc.
WSP | Parsons Brinckerhoff
5engineering, LLC